Methods and Models in Biomedical Sciences: Building Bridges

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
Creation of an open cross-disciplinary environment for diverse communities in biomedical sciences to discuss their methods and motivations

About this event

Held over two consecutive afternoons, this workshop brings together agency, regulator, industry and primary researcher communities in biomedical sciences to talk freely about methods and models and explore common ground. This is a Champalimaud Foundation workshop co-organised with CONGENTO and QuantOCancer projects, the Joint Research Centre (JRC) and FRESCI.

During this event we will:

  • Share the state of the art on innovative methods in tumor immunology and beyond
  • Connect people, reduce the communication gap, break silos
  • Openly discuss the future of non-animal models in biomedical research
  • Educate new generations, strengthening future bridges between worlds

...

FINAL AGENDA

WEST Lisbon time (CEST)

DAY 1 - 14th June 2021

13:00 WEST (14:00 CEST)

Opening

SOFIA B. LEITE, JOÃO CRUZ - EC Joint Research Centre & CONGENTO

13:20 WEST (14:20 CEST)

Introduction

The EU's reference laboratory for alternatives to animal testing

MAURICE WHELAN - EC Joint Research Centre

13:45 WEST (14:45 CEST)

Session A: Sharing state-of-the art non-animal alternative methods: tumour immunology as a case study (20min each)

CHAIR: LAURA WARD - QuantOCancer, Champalimaud Foundation

1. The Intertwined Evolution of Tumor Immunology and Experimental Models

LUCIA GABRIELE - Instituto Superiore di Sanità

2. Mathematical models in drug development

BENJAMIN RIBBA - Roche Pharmaceuticals Research & Early Development

3. Immune-Oncology: choosing the right model

LAURA GRIBALDO, MARCO STRACCIA - EC Joint Research Centre & FRESCI

14:45 WEST (15:45 CEST)

Coffee break (15 min)

15:00 WEST (16:00 CEST)

Session B: Breakout World Café

1. Explanation of the exercise (25min)

ANNAMARIA CARUSI - Inter-change Research Ltd

2. BREAKOUT GROUPS (45min)

16:10 WEST (17:00 CEST)

Regroup/plenary for breakout presentations from each group

16:55 WEST (17:45 CEST)

Wrap-up

SOFIA B. LEITE, JOÃO CRUZ - EC Joint Research Centre & CONGENTO

...

DAY 2 - 15th June 2021

13:00 WEST (14:00 CEST)

Reopening

ANNAMARIA CARUSI - Inter-change Research Ltd

13:05 WEST (14:05 CEST)

Session C: Making the most of your (animal) data (15min each)

CHAIR: LAURA GRIBALDO - EC Joint Research Centre

1. Automated, high-throughput, markerless tracking of animal behavior

MEGAN CAREY - Champalimaud Foundation

2. The International Brain Laboratory: A distributed network for reproducible science

NICCOLÒ BONACCHI - International Brain Lab

3. From Data to Knowledge and Beyond - AOPs common interface

BRIGITTE LANDESMANN - EC Joint Research Centre

4. CIAO project - Modelling COVID-19 Pathogenesis using Adverse Outcome Pathways framework

LAURE-ALIX CLERBAUX - EC Joint Research Centre

14:30 WEST (15:30 CEST)

Coffee break (15 min)

14:45 WEST (15:45 CEST)

Session D: Panel discussion - Building Trust Through Bridges

CHAIR: MARCO STRACCIA - FRESCI

Panel: Isabel Campos, (Champalimaud Foundation) Marta Moita (Champalimaud Foundation), Adriana Sánchez-Dánes (CF ERA Chair), Anna Olsson (i3S), Lindsay Marshal (HSI), Maurice Whelan (EC JRC).

15:30 WEST (16:30 CEST)

Conclusions & Closure

SOFIA B. LEITE, JOÃO CRUZ - EC Joint Research Centre & CONGENTO

Date and time

Location

Online event

Organiser Champalimaud Foundation

Organiser of Methods and Models in Biomedical Sciences: Building Bridges

Save This Event

Event Saved